Background Info

The Ministry of Labour and Social Protection was formed as a result of re-organization of Government in 2018. The Ministry combined the Ministry of Labour and Social Protection. The two former ministries have existed in various forms since independence in 1963. Presidential Circular No. 2 of 2013 which effectively constituted the re-organized government placed the following departments under the Ministry; the Department of Labour, Office of the Registrar of Trade Unions, Directorate of Occupational Safety and Health Services (DOSHS), Department of Children Services, Department of Social Development, Social Protection Secretariat, National Employment Bureau (NEB), Productivity Centre of Kenya (PCK) and the Directorate of National Human Resource Planning and Development. Others are the Semi-Autonomous Government Agencies (SAGAs) namely the National Industrial Training Authority (NITA), National Council for Persons With Disability (NCPWD) and National Council for Children Services. The only Autonomous Government Agency (AGA) under the Ministry’s mandate is the National Social Security Fund (NSSF).